‘Tis the season to try new beers, folks.

Somethin’ about the weather cooling down and the leaves changing color makes me want to sip a good beer – one that provides complexity and maybe a little spice.

I did the hard, excruciatingly boring work of trying seven different beers for you that I think are good seasonal libations.

So here it goes, these following brews make me think of fall…my greatest thanks to my boyfriend Jason and sister Erin for weighing in on the taste-testing. (CLICK on photos for a closer look).

Wasatch Pumpkin Seasonal Ale

Ah yes, the typical route. C’mon people, you need to try a pumpkin-flavored beer around fall. BUT, I do believe in pumpkin flavor moderation.

This pumpkin ale (4%) has that classic pumpkin, nutmeg scent that smells like Thanksgiving – nay, it smells like a pumpkin pie is baking in the oven. That being said, this beer is only slightly sweet. It doesn’t overbear or taste like artificial flavor. Each sip of this robust pumpkin ale gets progressively better, as the flavor (slightly gingersnap-py) is strong at first swig but tapers off at the end, leaving you wanting more.

If you don’t want to be the hick at Thanksgiving who wants to drink beer with turkey instead of a nice wine (and that’s OK!), I highly recommend pairing this ale with dinner.

Hennipen True Belgian Style Saison


I better get this off my chest before we continue: I’m a sucker for Belgian beers. And, yes, there are quite a few of them in this review. But, to plead my case, I do think the properties of a Belgian beer hit the right notes in the fall; a hoppy, full-bodied beer goes down nice in colder weather.

The Hennipen (7.7%) is just a downright excellent Belgian beer. It delivers a slightly fruity, crisp taste that lingers. The beer is also unassuming and doesn’t try to hard. Being slightly effervescent in nature, it would be easy to drink a lot of this, so go ahead!

Rogue Double Chocolate Stout


If I had to pick a winner, boy…this one would take the cake. Rich and melty with a hint of chocolate, this stout doesn’t deliver the chocolate flavor you would expect, but one that is smooth and flaunting coffee notes.

Boyfriend-and-stout-connoisseur-Jason gives this stout (8.7%) a thumbs up and an extra plus in darkness. He notably knocked me for saying this was the best stout I’ve ever had (apparently it is an easy stout to drink for a non-stout drinker) but stout virgins and stout fanatics alike will both enjoy this tasty beer.

Delirium Tremens


OK, OK…this just so happens to be one of my all-time favorite beers. But it also works great in the fall.

This Belgian beer is delightfully complex, yet smooth, and serves up some cherry, tart notes. Careful people, this bad boy is 8.5% alcohol content so it gets you tipsy faster but to me, it doesn’t taste particularly stronger than others.

The spicy, gingery fragrance brings the fall feeling home, rounding out the experience of this unique beer.

If you don’t like it, don’t blame me – blame that curious pink elephant. But, you might be too drunk to blame me at this point.

Golden Chaos


I know, I know…I just HAD TO. It has the word ‘chaos’ in the title.

Fear not, though, this turned out to be a great choice. This ale is crafted by Bootleggers Brewery, which is stationed locally in Fullerton. The O.C.-made ale (8.5%) combines rock candy – YES, I said rock candy – to create a fruity aroma and a smooth, crisp, perky taste.

If you’re looking for something on the lighter side, but still want to get that warm fall feel, this beer is pretty tasty.

Or, you could simply drink it as an ode to chaos – and be sure to lift up a cheers to Khaos.

Tripel Karmeliet


This is a traditional Belgian ale, and though I must say it was good, it is just that: a good Belgian ale. I really don’t have that much else to say about it!

Try it for yourself.

Spaten Oktoberfest


We’ll round the list out with another typical fall choice: an Oktoberfest beer (5.9%).

This beer is just what you’d expect, it’s really German, with a clean, earthy roundness to it. Made in Munich, the beer is not effervescent like some of the other beers I sampled.

But, you don’t want a German beer to give off bubbles like that, anyhow.

As Jason put it best, this beer is good, but not special, and has a nice summer-into-fall taste.

Well, there you have it. Now go forth, and drink good beer.

Cheers.

