shower

I couldn’t help but think today that I was taking the last shower of 2010.

Call me lame, but when you start to think of other simple acts of the year, and how they are the last of those 365 days, the number of times you repeated that ritual over time – you realize most of them are forgotten by now.

I do my best thinking in the shower, and I should really keep a dry erase board in there or something to catch my glimpses of genius before they are washed from my thoughts, like my coconut shampoo from my hair, my running mascara from my lashes.

2010 was good to me, and it was also very emotional and trying.

I joined with the love of my life in 2010.

My dad was diagnosed with cancer in 2010.

I changed in 2010.

Though the illness is hard on my dad and my family, we have grown closer than I could have ever imagined. We’re like one huge roundhouse kick to the face – nothin’ getting in our way.

So though this year has been riddled with adversity, it has been twice, three times – multiple times – soaked with love and for that, I am grateful for the year, yet at peace to put it behind me.

Happy New Years Eve.

ā¤

